giftal banner giftal banner

Yobe Assembly elects Speaker, principal officers

The member representing Nguru II at the Yobe State House of Assembly, Ahmed Lawan Mirwa, has been elected as Speaker of the 7th assembly.

The emergence of the new speaker followed the inauguration of 7th Assembly at the House Chamber.

Other elected principal officers of the Assembly include: Mohammed Isah Bello (Mamudo Constituency) who is now the Deputy Speakers of the Assembly; Bukar Mustapha (Gaidam North Constituency) – Majority Leader; Buba Ibrahim Kalallawa (Damaturu II Constituency) has been elected as Chief Whip; while Hassan Mohammed (Yusufari Constituency) is now the Deputy Chief Whip.

Details later…